Image by djwtwo via Flickr
|Flourless Chocolate Cake looks Yummy!|
When I mention a gluten free diet many people have said to me, "Then you just can't eat wheat, right?" Wrong! Grains containing gluten are wheat and related grains such as barley, rye, spelt, kamut and triticale. Then there are the products that contain gluten in one form or another. For instance, some soy sauces and vanillas contain gluten. Grains that are gluten free are amaranth, buckwheat, rice, quinoa, corn, millet, sorghum and teff. Oats are inherently gluten free but are often contaminated with wheat when growing or processing. Gluten free oats can be purchased from Bob's Red Mill in Portland, Oregon.
My biggest challenge will be eating out (don't do this often anyway) and church potlucks (weekly). If you have any ideas, please share them. In the meantime, I will probably just pack a separate lunch for myself so I don't have to ask everyone what is in their dishes--embarrassing! We have talked about labeling dishes at potluck for those who are food challenged. I am allergic to peanuts and watermelon. Watermelon is pretty easy to spot but peanuts hide in the strangest places like cake and granola!
Wish me luck and I will keep you posted on my progress. Kat